British and Irish Paediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Association


Byelaws (2012)


Section 1: Name of Association. The name of the association is The British and Irish Paediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Association (BIPOSA)


Section 2: Purpose of the Association. The purposes of BIPOSA are:


1. To advance the quality of care of children with eye conditions and of  children and adults with strabismus.

2. To promote the prevention of vision problems in children.

3. To work with other stakeholders (such as Royal College of Ophthalmologists, College of Optometrists,  British and Irish Orthoptic Society and    Patient Groups) to develop accessible information for healthcare workers and patients.

4. To promote and raise awareness of the sub-speciality of paediatric ophthalmology and strabismus generally and within the ophthalmic community.

5. To promote and support the training of paediatric ophthalmologists and strabismus surgeons and other professionals working in the field of paediatric ophthalmology and strabismus.

6. To advance research and audit in the field of paediatric ophthalmology and adult strabismus.


Section 3: Membership of the Association.


1. Full Medical membership. Specialist Ophthalmologist practicing in the United Kingdom or the Republic of Ireland with a substantial sub-specialty interest in paediatric ophthalmology and/or strabismus as evidenced by their fellowship training, clinical practice, research and teaching.

2. Full Orthoptic membership. Orthoptists practicing in the UK or Republic of Ireland with Health Professions Council registration or equivalent.

Associate Membership.

1. UK ophthalmologists in training who are currently undertaking or having completed a recognised fellowship in Paediatric Ophthalmology or Strabismus .

2. Non-training hospital ophthalmologists (associate specialists, staff grade doctors, clinical assistants) with a sub-specialty interest in paediatric ophthalmology and strabismus.

3. Non- ophthalmic medical specialists with a significant involvement in  paediatric ophthalmology and/or strabismus.

4. Hospital optometrists with a significant paediatric interest.

5. Paediatric ophthalmologists from other countries.

6. Scientists with a significant research interest allied to paediatric ophthalmology or strabismus.


4. Honorary Membership. By invitation.


All matters concerning qualification for membership shall be the decision of the executive committee.


SUBSCRIPTIONS The annual membership subscriptions shall be decided by the Executive Committee. The membership year will be the calendar year. Subscriptions will de deemed delinquent if not paid by the annual meeting of that year.


Section 4: Executive Committee


Members of the Executive Committee shall be proposed and seconded by two full members and elected by a simple majority vote at the annual meeting or by postal vote if elections are needed in the interim. Only full medical or Orthoptic members are eligible to vote and to be elected to the executive Committee (other than the Chair  of the British and Irish Orthoptic Society and Chair of he Paediatric sub-committee of the Royal College of Ophthalmologists who are automatically appointed). The Executive Committee shall meet two times a year or more often in exceptional circumstances. The Executive committee shall have the power to co-opt a maximum of two additional members, who may participate in discussion and advise, but not vote.


1. President (Full Medical Member). A three year term of office (not re-electable). The President shall chair the Executive Committee and represent the Association where necessary.

2. Vice President. (Full Medical Member) A three year term of office (not re-electable). The Vice President will deputise for the President when the President is unavailable.

3. Past president.

4. Chairman of the British and Irish Orthoptic Society.

5. Chairman of Paediatric sub-committee of the Clinical Standards Committee of Royal College Ophthalmologists.

6. Membership Secretary. A three year term of office. Responsible for maintaining a registry of membership, keeping up to date membership information on the website. Coordinating information to be sent to members regarding relevant meetings. Arranging the agenda and taking the minutes at the Executive Committee meetings and Annual General Meeting and distributing them appropriately.

7. Treasurer. Three year term of office. Responsible for collecting all dues and fees from the membership and maintaining the account of the Association. Responsible for keeping full and accurate records of receipts and disbursements and presenting the accounts and financial condition of the Association to the Executive Committee.

8. Meetings Secretary: One year term of office. The annual meeting will be hosted in a different venue each year. The Meetings Secretary will be a Full Member from the host venue responsible for organising the meeting.

9. Education Officer (Full Medical Member). Three year term of office. Responsible for coordinating Fellowships in paediatric ophthalmology and strabismus and collating and distributing information regarding educational events. Responsible for keeping up to date the educational information on the website

10. Scientific Officer. Responsible for coordinating National research projects including audit in the field of paediatric ophthalmology and strabismus. Working with other groups (such as BOSU and Vision 2020) to develop long term research strategies.


Section 5: Annual Scientific Meeting. The annual scientific meeting shall be held in a different venue within the United Kingdom or Republic of Ireland each year. The venue shall be decided at least two years in advance to allow adequate preparation time. The programme for the  meeting will be decided by a sub-committee appointed by the executive committee to consist of the Scientific Officer, Meetings Secretary and at least two others (such as past and future meeting organisers). The programme will include the Worth Lecture (paediatric ophthalmology), with the awarding of the Worth Medal,and the Trimble Lecture (strabismus).


Section 6: Annual General Meeting. The annual general meeting shall be held during the annual scientific meeting. Voting will be conducted on a simple majority basis unless otherwise determined within the byelaws. The agenda and minutes of the AGM shall be the responsibility of the Membership Secretary.


Section 7 Amendment to the Byelaws


The byelaws  may be amended by a two-third majority vote of full members at the AGM. Any proposal to amend the byelaws shall be circulated to members at least two weeks before the meeting.